Please help us to prove that open-access anthropology can work!

In making Cultural Anthropology free to read, we have given up our most significant source of revenue. We need your help to ensure the financial viability of the journal into the future. Please consider making a donation, big or small, to our publishing fund. And if you aren't a member of the SCA, please think about joining.

SCA Prizes

The SCA annually awards two prizes, the Cultural Horizons Prize and the Bateson Prize. For more information on prize winners, calls for submissions, and calls for jury members, see the SCA Prizes blog.

The Cultural Horizons Prize

For more than twenty-five years, the Society for Cultural Anthropology has been distinguished by having the largest graduate student membership of any section of the AAA. Recognizing that doctoral students are among the most experimentally minded—and often among the best read—of ethnographic writers, the SCA wants to know: Who is on your reading horizon? This spirit gave rise to the "Cultural Horizons Prize," awarded yearly by a jury of doctoral students for the best article appearing in Cultural Anthropology. The Horizons Prize carries an honorarium of $500.

The winner of the 2014 Cultural Horizons Prize is Kevin Lewis O'Neill (University of Toronto) for his article "Left Behind: Security, Salvation, and the Subject of Prevention" (May 2013). For more information on this year's prize, see the award announcement.

Former Cultural Horizons Prize Winners

The Gregory Bateson Book Prize

One of anthropology's most distinguished experimental thinkers, Gregory Bateson (1904–1980) and his diverse body of work have long been emblematic of what the SCA was founded to promote: rich ethnographic analysis that engages the most current thinking across the arts and sciences. Welcoming a wide range of styles and argument, the Bateson Prize looks to reward work that is theoretically rich, ethnographically grounded, and in the spirit of the tradition for which the SCA has been known—interdisciplinary, experimental, and innovative. The prize is awarded annually at the meetings of the American Anthropological Association and carries a honorarium of $500.

The winner of the 2014 Gregory Bateson Book Prize, awarded by the Society for Cultural Anthropology for the best book in anthropology, goes to Eduardo Kohn (McGill University) for his book, How Forests Think: Toward an Anthropology Beyond the Human (University of California Press). For more information on this year's prize, see the award announcement.

Former Bateson Prize Winners

To learn more about the life and work of Gregory Bateson, please visit the website of the Institute for Intercultural Studies.